Meet The Board

100% volunteer and local Board Members. Want to join the Board? Right this way.

Executive Board


Frances Miller


Term ends: June 2023
Having completed terms as Communications Director and Vice President, Frances now serves as President and oversees the AIGA Baltimore chapter. She is excited to utilize her position to help bring people together and meet local creatives, learning how AIGA can help them succeed.

Frances has deep Maryland roots and was born and raised in the Baltimore area, with only a 3-year hiatus at Messiah College in Pennsylvania where she earned her BA in Digital Media—Arts & Design. She now lives in Baltimore County and works as Marketing Creative Producer at CallTrackingMetrics, a software company based in Severna Park, MD., applying her design and strategy skills to a variety of marketing initiatives.

Nhu Nguyen

Nhu Nguyen

Vice President

Nhu serves as art director at JPA Health, a full-service health advocacy firm based in DC. She also is the principal owner and creative strategist at Brand Nhu Creative. Over the course of her career, she has worked in a multitude of different industries and professions all over the east coast.

In her current role as the Operations Chair, she is responsible for overseeing the board’s operations and tasks. She is excited to use her position to help facilitate efficient and exciting creative processes and tools for the chapter as well as the Baltimore design community.

Nhu currently holds a B.S. in Visual Communication Design from Stevenson University. She also serves at the Social Media Manager of LinkedIn Local Baltimore and in her free time is active in the social justice space.

Karole Kessler

Karole Kessler

Programming Director

Karole is the Founder and Creative Director of Karole Kessler Design, a design studio committed to unified brand identity. Over the course of her career she has partnered with brand marketing consultancies and in-house creatives to execute the brand experience through unified brand identity.

She finds that she is happiest when creating; so, when she’s not creating clever things for clients, you can find her learning a new skill or searching for the latest creative food joint.

Bryan Burke

Partnership Director

A competitive sailor, avid cyclist, and creative renaissance-man, Bryan has expertise in social media design, video production, motion design, UX/UI design, and more. He began perfecting his skills at a student-run advertising agency he started at Missouri State University and quickly broke into the profession as a freelancer and then content designer at Nestle Purina Petcare during his time in St. Louis, Mo. He also served on the AIGASTL chapter board for 4 years as Mentorship Co-Chair and then VP of Communications.

Baltimore became his new home in 2019 and he started a content and UX designer role at idfive. If you don’t catch him at an AIGADC or AIGABMore event, you may just happen to run into him at a concert as he’s a frequent concert-goer.

If you have an idea for a partnership with AIGA Baltimore, have an event you want us to promote, or just want to say hi…Send Him An Email

Can find him on Instagram: @_b_riz

Krystal Carpintieri

Krystal Carpintieri

Communications Director

Krystal is the Visual Designer at a local supply chain & automation company, Barcoding, Inc. Throughout her career at Barcoding thus far, she has assisted with the launch of a re-branding, developed social media & email campaigns, created Barcoding’s first brand guide website, designed a comprehensive presentation template, and much more. She is also known as an award-winning graphic designer with 1 GDUSA award, 2 Indigo Design awards, and 2 Baltimore ADDY’s!

She is a graduate of Stevenson University holds a Bachelor of Science (B.S.) degree in Visual Communication Design. While attending Stevenson, she served as Vice President & Communications Chair for the AIGA Stevenson student chapter. Krystal is also a board member for the Litho Club of Baltimore and an active member of the American Advertising Federation of Baltimore.

Benjamin Guarino

Benjamin Guarino

Mentorship and Pro-Dev Chair

Over the past 18 years, I have been blessed with the opportunity to work with some amazing teams providing creative design solutions for various industries, organizations, and brands.

I am a multidisciplinary creative professional with skills in both digital design and web technologies, focusing mainly on Human-Centered Design. I am passionate about product design, service design, user experience, customer experience, information architecture, accessibility, responsive design, human-computer interaction, front-end development, graphics & visual design, user-interface design, print & collateral, storyboarding, branding & identity, and motion/animation. I have additional experience with merchandise design, packaging design, A/V production, photography, photograph restoration, interior/exterior design, 3D design, and CAD.

Raquel Castedo

Raquel Castedo

Programming Chair and Society of Design Arts (SoDA) Liaison

Raquel is a Brazilian graphic designer, educator, and researcher, based in Baltimore (USA). Her work encompasses brand identities, publications, environmental design, exhibitions, created in collaboration with publishing houses, and communication departments in several companies, universities, museums, and galleries.

She earned a variety of recognitions in Brazil and participated in design exhibitions, including the Brazilian Graphic Design Biennial, the most important design show in the country, organized by the Brazilian Association of Graphic Designers [ADG Brasil].

Since 2019, Raquel serves as the Society of Design Arts (SoDA) Liaison’s of AIGA Baltimore, facilitating the communication between the two organizations. SoDA presents a monthly program on the history of design arts and related fields.

Advisory Board


Valerie Anderson

President Emeritus ’21


Joseph Carter-Brown

President Emeritus ’19

Vanessa Ulrich

Vanessa Ulrich

President Emeritus ’17

Stacey Fatica

Stacey Fatica

Co-President Emeritus ’13–’15

Jennifer Jericho

Jennifer Jericho

Co-President Emeritus ’13–’15

Robert O. Shelley

Alissa Jones

Kat Feuerstein